Dis-Chem Ride for Sight hosted by the City of Ekurhuleni

Club Contacts Rated Race
Date: 15 February 2015
Time: 06h15
Organisers: Springs Wheelers Cycle Club
Distance: 116; 62
Province: Gauteng
Start: Boksburg City Stadium
Jubilee Road
Contact 1: Claudette Medefindt
(Home) 011-8493301
(Cell) 083-3065262
Entry Details:
Pre-entries: Late entries are accepted at the start from 05h00 onwards. *Latest from the organisers: Numbers can be collected from Cycle Lab Centurion on Thursday 12 February 2015 from 09h00 to 17h00, Cycle Lab Fourways on Friday 13 February 2015 from 09h00 to 17h00 OR Tour de Frans in Boksburg on Saturday 14 February 2015 from 09h00 to 14h00.
Route Description:
Difficulty Rating: 0. Route Type: Circular
This is a fast, moderately undulating route. The race begins with a quick downhill ride. You will find the going to the halfway mark a combination of both fast and flat sections. Keep something in reserve for the second half is demanding and hilly. There is a slight uphill and steady climb to the finish.

Dis-Chem Ride for Sight
Prizes and Give-Aways:
A superior Dis-Chem goodie bag goes to each pre-entrant regardless of distance. All pre-entries are eligible for the lucky draw which comprises three nights for two people at Pafuri Game lodge, including airfares from Lanseria. There are also other lucky draw prizes worth R100,000 for entrants who attend the prize-giving.
Course Records:
Name Time Year
Editor's Notes:
This ride will be staged for the 27th time in 2015. The 116 kilometre event carries the Ernest Hunt Trophy, the oldest cycling trophy still in use in South Africa. Many top local cyclists have competed and won this race including Malcolm Lange, Andrew McLean, Jacques le Roux, Robbie Hunter, Ian McCleod, Jeremy Maartens, Jacques Fullard and James Ball. A 50 kilometre fun ride will also be held.

All proceeds go directly to Fighting Retinal Blindness 'A Cure in Sight' and not to a professional event organiser.

*Latest from organisers: The 116km Super Classic event is a seeding event for the Cape Town Cycle Tour 2016.

Finishers: 5000 Time Limit: 06:00
Press Releases:
[ Back to Top Ten Races in South Africa ]
[ Back to Argus Seeding Races ]
[ Back to Cycling Races in South Africa ]